On 26th January 1949 constitution of India was adopted. 

26 January was selected as the date of the republic for India. 

 A resolution was given for the appointment of a drafting committee on 29 August 1947. 

It was appointed to draft a permanent constitution for India. 

 Dr B R Ambedkar became chairman of the drafting committee. 

Two handwritten copies of the document were signed by 308 members of the Assembly. 

 It was submitted on 24 January 1950 and the constitution came into effect from 26 January. 

Dr. Rajendra Prasad became the first president of India.

Every year Republic Day parade in New Delhi is held on this very day.